Helpful Links

Yahoo’s Author Site | – An extensive list of web sites devoted to individual authors. The quality of these sites vary as they have been developed by various fans, authoritative resources, and educational institutions.

Antiquarian Booksellers Association of Amnerica | – Established in 1949, the ABAA promotes ethical standards and professionalism in the antiquarian book trade in America.

Massachusetts and Rhode Island Antiquarian Booksellers | – Founded in 1976, Massachusetts and Rhode Island Antiquarian Booksellers, Inc. has now grown to include over 160 members.

Book History Online | – International Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book and Libraries

Literary Award Lists

The Pulitzer Prize | – Named after Hungarian newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer, this award honors books which address the largest themes in life, the raw passion and tragedy of the human condition. The Pulitzer Prize has been awarded by Columbia University since 1917. The awards are given on the recommendations of a board of jurors for Journalism, Letters, Music and Drama. The awards for Letters include Fiction, which is listed here, Nonfiction, Poetry, Biography or Autobiography, and History.

The National Book Award | – The National Book Awards have become one of the nation’s preeminent literary prizes. The awards are given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. The Winners, selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre, receive a $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture.

The National Book Critics Circle Award | – The National Book Critics Circle Awards were established in 1981 to honor the best book in five categories: Fiction, General Nonfiction, Biography and Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism. The winners are selected by a board of more than 700 book reviewers.

The Booker Prize | – Established in 1969, The Booker Prize aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. Booker judges are selected from the country’s finest critics, writers and academics to maintain the consistent excellence of the prize. The winner of the Booker Prize receives £50,000.

The PEN/Faulkner Award | – Named for William Faulkner, who used his Nobel Prize funds to create an award for young writers, and affiliated with PEN (Poets, Playwrights, Editors, Essayists and Novelists), the PEN/Faulkner Award was founded by writers in 1980 to honor their peers. The award judges–working fiction writers all–each read approximately 300 novels and short story collections to select a winner and four nomineers. The winner, or “first among equals,” receives $15,000; each of the others receives $5,000, making PEN/Faulkner the largest juried award for fiction in the United States.